The Acting President of Nigeria, Yemi Osinbajo is reported to be swearing in two ministers today July 26 2017.

Professor Stephen Nkani Ocheni (Kogi State) and Mr Suleiman Zana Hassan (Gombe State), will be sworn in this morning before the Federal Executive Council meeting.

The Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity to the Acting President, Mr Laolu Akande, confirmed this last Tuesday July 25.

The swearing-in ceremony comes more than two months after the Senate confirmed the nomination of Ocheni and Hassan as ministers.

The confirmation of the nominees followed a request by President Muhammdu Buhari in accordance with Section147 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

President Buhari had nominated both men to replace the late Minister of State for Labour, James Ocholi, and ex-Minister of the Environment, Amina Mohammed.

Stephen Ocheni from Kogi State and Suleiman Hassan from Gombe State were cleared by the Senate on May 3 and have been waiting to be brought into the federal cabinet.


Ocholi, who was Minister of State for Employment, Labour and Productivity, died in an auto crash in 2016.

Mohammed, Minister of Environment, stepped down to take up the post of Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Ocheni will take over the seat of late former minister of state for labour, James Ocholi; while Hassan is to replace Amina Mohammed